Subscribe
The fillet of gold beef with truffle fries and grilled vegetables at the Steaklounge in Weiden, Germany, Aug. 16, 2022.

The fillet of gold beef with truffle fries and grilled vegetables at the Steaklounge in Weiden, Germany, Aug. 16, 2022. (Michael Slavin/Stars and Stripes)

Moving to small-town Weiden, Germany, from Washington, D.C., left me feeling uneasy about the quality of the local restaurant scene.

Would I be able to find modern dining in a place whose history dates back over 1,000 years? Could I post cute pictures to Instagram? Would the food meet my pompous D.C. expectations?

The Steaklounge may not be the answer to all these questions, but it will check some of the boxes until my search continues.

Combining its historic roots with a cozy, upscale dining experience, the Steaklounge was on par with U.S. counterparts, in my estimation.

The waitstaff and bartender were very welcoming and happy to accommodate an American with little to no experience speaking German. And the availability of English menus made ordering effortless.

Although I was dining on a Tuesday, I would highly recommend a reservation, as I’ve seen the place get quite busy on weekends.

The tapas platter is a featured appetizer, with chorizo, bacon-wrapped dates and shrimp at Steaklounge in Weiden, Germany, Aug. 16, 2022.

The tapas platter is a featured appetizer, with chorizo, bacon-wrapped dates and shrimp at Steaklounge in Weiden, Germany, Aug. 16, 2022. (Michael Slavin/Stars and Stripes)

I started off with the tapas platter, consisting of seasoned shrimp, chorizo in wine and bacon-wrapped dates, paired with a mojito.

The visually pleasing presentation of both the platter and the drink set my expectations high, but the flavor didn’t quite measure up. While the shrimp were the highlight of the appetizer, the chorizo could have used a little less cooking time.

Both drinks I ordered were on par with the German take on classic cocktails, having all the right parts but put together with one ingredient out of place. I would recommend checking out the large wine list instead.

With a cozy atmosphere and relaxed environment, this is a great place for date night or a special occasion. The waitstaff ensures that you aren’t rushed during or after the meal, and the intimate setting provides ample opportunity for conversation without a feeling of being overcrowded.

The entree and side dishes were the saving grace of my dining experience at Steaklounge. For the main dish, I had the locally sourced fillet of gold beef, also known as tenderloin. It was cooked to a perfect medium-rare, although it lacked the melt-in-your-mouth quality of a higher-end steak.

The side dishes were more like the Batman to the entree’s Robin. The truffle fries with truffle mayonnaise were a perfect golden-brown with truffle shavings on top. The grilled vegetables made even a crayon-eating Marine like me want to come back for more.

Creme brulee with mixed berries at the Steaklounge in Weiden, Germany, Aug. 16, 2022.

Creme brulee with mixed berries at the Steaklounge in Weiden, Germany, Aug. 16, 2022. (Michael Slavin/Stars and Stripes)

Seeing one of my favorite desserts, creme brulee, on the menu, I decided to give it a go. Topped with assorted berries, the dish exuded the customary custard flavor. Unfortunately, after breaking the crust, I found a runny center.

So on the whole, I would rate my experience at Steaklounge as pleasant enough, with its share of pluses. However, the search for a restaurant in my new home that measures up to all my admittedly lofty specifications is bound to continue. 

A look at Steaklounge, located just outside of the city center of Weiden, Germany, Aug. 16, 2022.

A look at Steaklounge, located just outside of the city center of Weiden, Germany, Aug. 16, 2022. (Michael Slavin/Stars and Stripes)

Steaklounge

Address: Fleischgasse 4, Weiden in der Oberpfalz, Germany

Hours: Monday-Sunday, 5-10 p.m.

Prices: Entrees range from 25 to 50 euros. Appetizers are in the 10-20 euro range; drinks cost 5-10 euros.

Information: Phone: +49 961 78488360; Online: steaklounge-weiden.de/eng


Stripes in 7



around the web


Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign-up to receive a daily email of today’s top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign up