Support our mission

(Tribune News Service) — The Air Force recently announced the assignment of two senior leaders at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base.

Lorna Estep has been assigned to serve as executive director at the headquarters of Air Force Materiel Command (AFMC) at Wright-Patterson, the Air Force said.

Estep will be moving from Air Force Installation and Mission Support Center, AFMC, at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas.

This week, AFMC Executive Director Patricia Young retired after nearly 37 years in the civil service. She assumed the office in 2016.

“I will miss the mission, and most especially, I will miss the people,” Young is quoted as saying in an AFMC release. “I am ready for more time at home and less email, but it will be hard to leave the mission and the people. It’s time; I think I have done everything that I can for the Air Force, and I’m just ready to circle back and have more time for family and friends.”

Also announced, Gaurav Sharma has been named chief scientist at the 711th Human Performance Wing at Wright-Patterson. Sharm’s previous position was senior scientist, cognitive neuroscience, also at the 711th Human Performance Wing, which is part of the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL).

Like AFMC, AFRL is based at Wright-Patterson.

Controlling about a third of the Air Force budget, AFMC manages development and sustainment of every major Air Force weapon system. The command employs nearly 89,000 military and civilian Airmen and manages $67 billion.

One of the biggest Air Force bases, Wright-Patterson has about 32,000 military and civilian employees.

(c)2022 the Dayton Daily News (Dayton, Ohio)

Visit the Dayton Daily News (Dayton, Ohio) at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

(U.S. Air Force)

Stripes in 7

around the web

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign-up to receive a daily email of today’s top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign up