Ryan Murphy of Camp Walker and Jessica Forman of Yongsan Garrison headline the 8th Army team from Korea which will compete in the 2011 Army Ten-Miler race Oct. 9 at Washington, 8th Army sports officials announced Wednesday.

Murphy won the men’s junior-veteran (29-and-under) division of Saturday’s 8th Army Ten-Miler in 1 hour, 1 minute, 39 seconds, while Former captured the women’s sub-master (30-39) title in 1:14:10 at Camp Casey’s Carey Fitness & Sports Center.

Murphy is joined by 2010 8th Army team veterans Jeffrey Hayden of Yongsan and Thomas Marnoch of Camp Carroll. Also on the 2011 team are Robert Anderson of Camp Humphreys, Allen Bader of Camp Carroll, Adrian Orrostieta of Yongsan and Eric Mwaura of Camp Hovey. Anderson won the men’s sub-master title in 59:47 in Saturday’s qualifier.

“We have some good people back,” said 8th Army sports director Tom Higgins of a men’s team that finished 16th overall in 3:54:48 and seventh out of 40 teams in the active duty men’s Commander’s Cup standings. The 8th Army women placed seventh out of 40 in the Commander’s Cup and 174th overall in 5:01:17.

Joining Forman on the 2011 women’s team are 2010 veterans Jennifer Woods of K-16 Air Base, Carol Lowe of Camp Henry and Susanna Hans of Camp Casey, plus Sarah Rainville of Camp Walker, Camp Henry’s Mariel Hernandez and Yongsan’s Leah Hornback. Lowe won the women’s masters (40 and ove) in 1:21:25 Saturday.

Pat Noble of Camp Henry will coach the teams at Washington.

Top finishers8th U.S. Army Ten-Miler Qualifiying RaceAt Carey Fitness Center, Camp Casey, South KoreaSaturday’s resultsMen’s junior veteran (29-and-under)

1, Ryan Murphy, Camp Walker, 1 hour, 1 minute, 39 seconds; 2, Allen Bader, Camp Carroll, 1:03:32; 3, Adrian Orrostieta, Yongsan Garrison, 1:05:23.

Men’s sub-master (30-39)

1, Robert Anderson, Camp Humphreys, 59:47; 2, Tom Marnoch, Camp Carroll, 1:05:08; 3, Eric Mwaura, Camp Hovey, 1:05:28.

Men’s master (40 and over)

1, Robert Nott, Camp Walker, 1:00:38; 2, Mark Sullivan, Camp Carroll, 1:06:17; 3, Gary Fitts, Yongsan Garrison, 1:08:13.

Women’s junior veteran

1, Kristen Epstein, Camp Walker, 1:10:08; 2, Sarah Rainville, 1:10:55; 3, Jennifer Woods, K-16 Air Base, 1:15:48.

Women’s sub-master

1, Jessica Forman, Yongsan Garrison, 1:14:10; 2, Sarah Stahl, Camp Humphreys, 1:15:41; 3, Susanna Hans, Camp Casey, 1:22:36.

Women’s master1, Carol Lowe, Camp Henry, 1:21:25; 2, Mi Cha Kincaid, Yongsan Garrison, 1:22:30; 3, Jennifer Bunn, Camp Hovey, 1:54:50.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now