Members of the Division I elite dominate the roster of the All-Europe girls soccer first team, announced this week by DODEA-Europe athletic director Karen Seadore. Champion Stuttgart supplied four members of the 15-player squad, led by 2016 Stars and Stripes girls soccer Athlete of the Year Alexa Smith. Fellow newcomer Lexi Mclellan, junior defender Meaghan Ambelang and senior striker Kat Farrar – the 2015 Stars and Stripes girls soccer Athlete of the Year – round out the Panthers’ first-team contingent. Runner-up Naples and semifinalist Ramstein each placed three members on the team. Defender Jill Thurston and goalkeeper Angelica Sheils, both seniors, were joined by freshman striker Micayla Feltner for the Wildcats. Senior striker Ebony Madrid represents the Royals on the first team along with senior defender Erin Barnett and sophomore defender Leisel Mendenhall. While the large-school powers took up the bulk of the first team, room remained for stars from lower-division champions Black Forest Academy and Alconbury. Seniors Anna Kragt and Mia Rottier represent Division II champ BFA, while sophomore star Isabel Black made the team for the Division III champion Dragons. Freshman Emily Smith made the second team for Stuttgart, giving the Panthers a total of five selections, the most of any team. Ramstein’s Kendall Spohr cracked the second team for a fourth Royal nod. AFNORTH placed three players on the All-Europe teams, including first-team senior Caitlyn Helwig, while Wiesbaden produced three second-teamers. Hohenfels senior forward Amelia Heath rounded out the first team.First team DEF Jill Thurston, Naples (Sr.) GK Angelica Sheils, Naples (Sr.) F Micayla Feltner, Naples (Fr.) MF Lexi Mclellan, Stuttgart (Jr.) F Alexa Smith, Stuttgart (Jr.) F Kat Farrar, Stuttgart (Sr.) DEF Meaghan Ambelang, Stuttgart (Jr.) F Ebony Madrid, Ramstein (Sr.) DEF Leisel Mendenhall, Ramstein (Soph.) DEF Erin Barnett, Ramstein (Sr.) F Caitlyn Helwig, AFNORTH (Sr.) F Anna Kragt, Black Forest (Sr.) DEF Mia Rottier, Black Forest (Sr.) F Amelia Heath, Hohenfels (Sr.) F Isabel Black, Alconbury (Soph.)Second team MF Roni Teti, Alconbury (Soph.) GK Eliyah Tillman, Baumholder (Jr.) MF Lynda Reed, Sigonella (Sr.) MF Baileigh McFall, Bitburg (Soph.) DEF Talja Hoene, Bitburg (Jr.) MF Elyse Slabaugh, Aviano (Sr.) MF Sophia Munoz, AFNORTH (Sr.) F Caitlin Fenton, AFNORTH (Sr.) F Kendall Spohr, Ramstein (Soph.) MF Camryn Hickson, Wiesbaden (Fr.) DEF Gabriella Brown, Wiesbaden (Sr.) MF Peggy Sue Mathis, Wiesbaden (Fr.) F Sunniva Leivdal, SHAPE (Fr.) MF Begona Rodriguez Bravo, SHAPE (Sr.) LW Emily Smith, Stuttgart (Fr.)Selection committee: Karen Seadore, DODEA-Europe; Greg Blankenship, AFNORTH; Daniel Coapstick, Stuttgart; Kathy Clemmons, Hohenfels; Rebecca Lucy, Naples; Shawn McCarthy, Sigonella.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now