Soldiers from U.S. Army Europe earned several honors in the recently announced Maj. Gen. Keith L. Ware awards for print and broadcast journalism excellence. USAREUR took 10 first-place awards in broadcast categories and Spc. Chris Higginbotham of the 21st Theater Support Command took the Army’s Rising Star award for outstanding new broadcaster.

Here is a list of the categories and winners:

Print journalism

Tabloid-format newspapers:Honorable mention — Herald Union, 104th Area Support Group, Germany.

Magazine-format publication:2nd place — Ironside Magazine, 1st Armored Division.

News article:Honorable mention — Scott Rouch, (“Hansen receives a hero's welcome”), 98th ASG.

Feature article:2nd place — Jayme Loppnow, (“Dive team persists in search for Soldier's body”), 233rd Base Support Battalion.

Commentary:Honorable mention — Hugh C. McBride, (“60 years later, D-Day veterans still serve”), 6th ASG.

Broadcast journalism

Radio entertainment program:1st place — Sgt. Aaron Talley, “The Lion’s Den,” AFN South; 2nd place — AFN SHAPE, “Trev and Jane in the Morning”.

Radio spot / promo production:1st place — Sgt. Luke Burns, “AFTB Classes” AFN Bavaria.

Radio report:1st place — Michelle Michael, “Falling Dollar,” AFN Europe.

Radio newscast:2nd place — Roger Williams, “AFN Morning Newswatch”; 3rd place — AFN SHAPE, Belgium, “Benelux Today”.

Radio information program:3rd place — AFN SHAPE, “Glenn Miller Tribute”.

Television information program:1st place — Kane Richard Farabaugh, “The Castle Years,” AFN Europe; 2nd place — Staff Sgt. Gina Gray, “Days of War,” AFN Vicenza, Italy; Honorable mention — Robert Buchwald, “An Army of Families,” Headquarters, USAREUR Office of the Chief of Public Affairs.

TV spot/promo:2nd place — AFN Würzburg, Germany,“Max Minimum”; 3rd place — Staff Sgt. Pam Smith, “Why I Serve," HQ, USAREUR.

Television news feature:1st place — AFN Europe, “D-Day 60th Anniversary;” 3rd place — Robert Buchwald, “Sand Castles,” HQ USAREUR.

Television feature report:1st place — Robert Buchwald, “1-4 in Afghanistan,” HQ USAREUR OCPA; Honorable mention – Kane Richard Farabaugh, “In Search of Moses,” AFN Europe.

Television sports report:3rd place — Staff Sgt. Joyce Costello, “Family Runs to Tower," AFN Livorno, Italy.

Television newsbreak:1st place — AFN Heidelberg, Germany, “Chili Cookoff”; 3rd place — AFN Heidelberg, “H.S. Football Opener”.

Local TV newscast:3rd place — AFN Heidelberg, “Bazaar Wrap-up”.

Regional TV newscast:1st place — AFN Evening News — AFN Europe.

Command information plan:1st place — HQ USAREUR, “Sexual Assault — Not in Our Army”; 2nd place - HQ USAREUR, Task Force Normandy 60th Public Affairs Office “D-Day 60th Anniversary”; 3rd place — AFN Würzburg, “1st ID Deployment Campaign”.

Rising Star award for outstanding new broadcaster:Spc. Chris Higginbotham, 21st TSC.

Category R — Television graphics:1st place — Kane Richard Farabaugh, AFN Europe; 2nd place — Harry W. Lockley, HQ USAREUR; 3rd place — Alessandra Ursoleo, AFN South.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now