U.S. Air Forces in Europe officials have named the recipients of the 2003 Pararescuemen of the Year awards.

The pararescueman program recognizes excellence in primary duties, significant accomplishments and other contributions to the unit mission, according to a USAFE news release.

Staff Sgt. Michael Herrera, of Keflavik Naval Air Station, Iceland, was the recipient in the airman category, while Tech. Sgt. Douglas Isaacks, also of Keflavik, was recipient in the noncommissioned officer category.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now