WIESBADEN, Germany — American Forces Network broadcasters received 11 first-place Department of Defense Thomas Jefferson awards for broadcast journalism in the 2010 competition.

The Thomas Jefferson Awards Program is an annual competition that recognizes achievements of military and civilian journalists involved in military print and broadcast media.

List of first-place winners:

Broadcast Division

- Radio Entertainment Program (tie):“Midday Show with Mark Weeks,” (AFN Europe)“Moose in the Morning,” Staff Sgt. Christopher Meadows (AFN Benelux, Belgium)

- Radio Spot Production:“AFN FAQs,” Gerard Cormier (AFN Kaiserslautern, Germany)

- Radio News Report:“Combat Controllers,” Tech. Sgt. Steve German, (Defense Media Activity-Air Force, San Antonio)

- Radio Feature Report:“Pathfinders Medevac Shot Afghan Border Police,” Staff Sgt. Jeremy Vought (DMA-Marine Production Directorate, Arlington, Va.)

- Radio Sports Report:“Final Home Game,” Lance Milsted (AFN Heidelberg, Germany)

- Radio Newscast:“Benelux Radio Update,” (AFN Benelux)

- Radio Information Program:“Mannheim Bison Final Home Game,” (AFN Heidelberg)

- Television Information Program:“Europass Outdoor Recreation Scuba,” (AFN Europe)

- Television Spot Production:“Happy Birthday from Afghanistan,” Staff Sgt. Jennifer Brofer (U.S. Marine Corps, Camp Pendleton, Calif.)

- Television News Report:“Memorial Day with 101st,” Sean Patrick (AFN Benelux)

- Television Feature Report:“Pathfinders Medevac,” Vought (DMA-Marine Production Directorate)

- Television Sports Report:“Warrior Games,” Dave Annarino (DMA-A, Arlington)

- Local Television Newscast:“Inside SMC, Volume 13,” (Los Angeles AFS)

- Regional Television Newscast:“Air Force Prime Time,” Regional News Bureau (Ramstein Air Base, Germany)

- Television Newsbreak (tie):“Primetime 2-Minute Report,” Air Force Staff Sgt. Jason David (AFN Europe, Regional News Bureau, Ramstein Air Base)“Scars to Freedom,” Sgt. Ashleigh Torres (SRTV, DMA-Army, Arlington)

- Command Information Campaign:“1st MLG Suicide Prevention and Holiday Safety,” 1st MLG, Camp Pendleton

- Oustanding New Broadcaster:Airman 1st Class Tori Fleck (AFN Benelux)

- DOD Broadcast Journalist of the Year:Dave Annarino (DMA-Army – Arlington, Washington, D.C.)

- Outstanding Flagship Television Program:“All Hands Television,” (DMA Navy, Anacostia)

Print Division

- Metro Format Newspaper:Fort Hood Sentinel, III Corps and Fort Hood Public Affairs Office (Texas)

- Tabloid Format Newspaper:Okinawa Marine (Headquarters and Service Battalion, Marine Corps Base Consolidated Public Affairs Office, Japan)

- Magazine Format Publication (Other than Flagship):Reservist Magazine (Coast Guard Headquarters, Washington, D.C.)

- Newsletter Format Publication:The Shuttle (USS Enterprise)

- Web-Based Publication:The Blue Diamond (1st Marine Division Headquarters Company Public Affairs Office, Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton)

- Outstanding Flagship Publication:Marines Magazine (Defense Media Activity Marine Production Element, Arlington, Va.)

- Outstanding Flagship (OCPA Online Social Media Division, Arlington)

- (South Carolina National Guard Public Affairs Office, Columbia, S.C.)

- News Article:“Interagency Cooperation Credited with Catching Workers’ Comp Fraud,” Sara Moore (Defense Logistics Agency Strategic Communications, Fort Belvoir, Va.)

- Feature Article:“Never Say It’s Impossible,” Staff Sgt. J. Paul Croxon (Airman Magazine, Air Force Public Affairs Agency, San Antonio)

- Commentary:“Grandfather,” Lance Cpl. Tyler J. Bolken (Marine Corps Air Station Cherry Point Joint Public Affairs, Cherry Point, N.C.)

- Sports Article:“Cyclists Refuse to Leave Teammate Behind,” Elizabeth M. Collins (DMA-Army, Arlington)

- Series:“From Civilians to Soldiers,” Kristin Molinaro (The Bayonet, Fort Benning Public Affairs Office, Fort Benning, Ga.)

- Photojournalism:“Oh, Henry!”, Tech. Sgt. Samuel A. Bendet (Torch Magazine, Air Education and Training Command Safety Directorate, San Antonio)

- Contribution by Stringer (Writer):“We’re Not Leaving You Brother,” John Bruning (Oregon National Guard Joint Forces Public Affairs, Salem, Ore.)

- Contribution by Stringer (Photojournalist):“Warrior Adventure Quest,” Monica Wood (U.S. Army Garrison Fort Sill Public Affairs Office, Fort Sill, Okla.)

- Outstanding New Writer:Lance Cpl. Reece Lodder (PAO Marine Corps Base Hawaii, Kaneohe Bay, Hawaii)

- DOD Print Journalist of the Year:Randy Roughton (Airman Magazine, DMA-Air Force, San Antonio)

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now