Support our mission

U.S. Army Europe leaders recently selected 14 soldiers for the Gen. Douglas MacArthur Leadership Award.

The winners were selected from a field of more than 3,200 company grade and junior warrant officers.

USAREUR will pay tribute to its winners in an award ceremony March 30 at the Village Pavilion at Patrick Henry Village in Heidelberg, Germany. At that time, three individuals will be selected to compete at the Army level.

The annual award recognizes company grade and junior warrant officers from each major Army command who personify the ideals for which MacArthur stood — duty, honor, country — and who have demonstrated outstanding military performance, leadership, and achievement, according to a USAREUR news release.

The winners are:

Company grade

Capt. Kevin F. Hanrahan, 127th Military Police Company, 709th Military Police Battalion, 18th Military Police Brigade, V Corps;

Capt. Daniel R. Palmeter, Headquarters and Headquarters Battery, V Corps Artillery;

Capt. Karen R. Saravia, 19th Maintenance Company, 5th Battalion, 7th Air Defense Artillery Regiment, 69th Air Defense Artillery Brigade;

Capt. Eric Strong, Hawk Troop (BRT), 1st Cavalry, 3rd Brigade Combat Team, 1st Armored Division;

Capt. Brian J. Hackenberg, Company C, 9th Engineer Battalion, 1st Infantry Division;

Capt. Mirko L. Crnkovich, 554th Military Police Company, 21st Theater Support Command;

Capt. Arie C. Richards, Company C, 2nd Battalion (Airborne), 503rd Infantry, 173rd Airborne Brigade, Southern European Task Force;

Capt. Letsy A. Perezfolch, Detachment C, 8th Finance Battalion, 266th Theater Finance Command.

Capt. Jeremy S. Boardman, Detachment C, 90th Personnel Services Battalion, 1st Personnel Command.

Junior warrant officers

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Javier Gutierrez, Company B, 3/158th Aviation Regiment, V Corps;

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Robin J. Lambert, 12th Chemical Company, 1st Infantry Division;

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Carolyn J. Lattimore, Company A, 510th Personnel Support Battalion, 1st Personnel Command;

Chief Warrant Officer 2 Antonio Burnett, Headquarters, 70th Transportation Company, 21st Theater Support Command;

Chief Warrant Officer 2 John Dibias, 1st Battalion (Airborne), 508th Infantry 173rd Airborne Brigade, Southern European Task Force.


Stripes in 7

around the web

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign-up to receive a daily email of today’s top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign up