STUTTGART, Germany — Staff Sgt. Christopher McDougall, a military policeman stationed in Stuttgart, was named the Army’s noncommissioned officer of the year this week after winning the Army’s Best Warrior Competition at Fort Lee, Va.

The competition’s winners were announced Monday at the 2010 Association of the U.S. Army Annual Meeting in Washington.

Also during the event, a female soldier claimed the title of Soldier of the Year for 2010’s Best Warrior Competition for the first time in the event’s nine year history.

Sgt. Sherri Gallagher of the U.S. Army Marksmanship Unit, who represented U.S. Training and Doctrine Command, beat out 11 other competitors from the Army’s major commands. Gallagher, who is stationed at Fort Benning, Ga., is one of the top long-range rifle shooters in the country, according to the Army.

Events in this year’s competition included hand-to-hand combat, urban orienteering, detainee operations, casualty evaluation, weapons familiarization and night firing.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now