NAVAL AIR STATION PENSACOLA, Fla. – Six Korea-based servicemembers, two airman from Europe, and an Okinawa-based soldier were named Thursday to the 2010 All-Armed Forces men’s and women’s softball teams, armed forces sports officials announced.

They’ll be part of teams representing the military in the 2010 Amateur Softball Association’s national championships, scheduled for Sept. 30-Oct. 4 at ASA’s national headquarters in Oklahoma City.

Headlining the Pacific All-Armed Forces parade was Chris Markey of Osan Air Base, South Korea. He was named All-Air Force for the sixth time and All-Armed Forces for a fifth time.

The marquee women’s player is Shannika Taylor of Camp Stanley, South Korea, who was selected to her fourth All-Army and All-Armed Forces teams.

First-time men’s selections are Dann Rogers of Camp Walker, South Korea, and Chris “Smoke” Stephens of Okinawa’s Torii Station. Named to the women’s team for the first time are Trina McGee of Camp Henry, South Korea, and Shaqina Smith of Camp Casey, South Korea.

Representing Europe on the All-Armed Forces teams are Joey Chastain of Aviano Air Base, Italy, and Lindsey Ciullo of Ramstein Air Base, Germany.

In the All-Armed Forces tournament which ended Thursday, Army’s women dethroned three-time champion Air Force, going unbeaten in eight games, while Air Force went 3-5. Air Force’s men repeated their championship, going 7-2, a game ahead of Army (6-3).

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now