YONGSAN GARRISON, South Korea — Sammy Ngatia, who won the Army Ten-Miler three years ago, heads a team of 16 runners that will represent 8th U.S. Army in Korea in the 2003 Army Ten-Miler on Oct. 5 in Washington, 8th Army sports officials announced Thursday.

Ngatia, a sergeant assigned to Camp Kyle, qualified for the team by finishing the 8th Army Ten-Miler in 55 minutes, 39 seconds on Aug. 2 at Camp Casey.

Joining him on the men’s team are three Camp Casey soldiers: Stephen Lockridge, Daniel Lopez and Joshua Butts; two from Camp Long: Dale Hart and Luke Pospisil; and one each from Camps Walker and Carroll, James Martin and Paul Lancaster.

Lancaster took the 8th Army men’s open title with a time of 56:06, while Lockridge won the men’s seniors in 56:38.

On the women’s team are Noreen Roberson of Camp Carroll, Laura Wells and Courtney Boyce of Yongsan, Veronica Mendiata and Bridget Carter of Camp Red Cloud, Jeanne Deden of Camp Walker, Jeanette Medina of Camp Hovey and Julie Balten of Camp Castle.

Roberson won the 8th Army women’s open category in 1 hour, 9 minutes, 5 seconds.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now