New champions guaranteed in school year's first title event

Kaiserslautern's Jasmin Acker tees off during the DODEA-Europe golf championship at Rheinblick golf course in Wiesbaden, Germany on Oct. 5, 2016.


By GREGORY BROOME | STARS AND STRIPES Published: October 9, 2018

Two new individual champions will be crowned this week as 22 golfers converge on Wiesbaden for the 2018 DODEA-Europe golf championship meet.

The meet, scheduled for Wednesday and Thursday at Rheinblick Golf Course, is the first athletic championship event of the 2018-19 DODEA-Europe school year, and the first event back after last weekend’s league-wide bye.

The two-day meet is guaranteed to produce a pair of new champions. Kaiserslautern enjoyed a girls and boys sweep last year, but respective champions Jasmin Acker and Kaden Senkbeil have since moved on, leaving the titles vulnerable to the fields of four girls and 18 boys selected to compete.

Ramstein teammates Phoebe Shin and Lauren Sutherland should stage a memorable in-house duel for the girls title. Shin entered the season the assumed champion-in-waiting after a second-place finish to Acker last fall, but Sutherland got the better of Shin and the rest of the field in the final regular-season meet Sept. 27 at the same Rheinblick course that will host this week’s championships.

Bryan Cortese of the hometown Warriors is the clubhouse favorite on the boys side. He finished third in last year’s European finals, making him the top returning performer from that event, and claimed first in the Sept. 27 regular-season finale. Ramstein’s Ben Todman, the fourth-place finisher a year ago, and Kaiserslautern contender George Stephan are among his primary adversaries.

In addition to pursuing those individual titles, Ramstein is also in line to defend its 2017 boys and girls team championships, awarded to the school with the highest combined score among its players.

Ben Todman (Ramstein)
Bryan Cortese (Wiesbaden)
George Stephan (Kaiserslautern)
Jonah Galvan (Wiesbaden)
Micah Webb (Ramstein)
Hayden Abercrombie (Lakenheath)
Faris Mohd-Ghazali (Bahrain)
Nicholas Burnett (Wiesbaden)
Rian Ritter (Vilseck)
Christian Angeles (Ramstein)
Mathias Perrin (Kaiserslautern)
Noah Carges (Stuttgart)
Tyler Pazdyk (Rota)
Sam Ricketts (Lakenheath)
Eli Rothas (Ramstein)
Alexander Hauser (Naples)
Chandler Peyton (Ramstein)
Jackson Karwoski (Lakenheath)

Phoebe Shin (Ramstein)
Lauren Sutherland (Ramstein)
Harley Parks (Ramstein)
Annie Fees (Vilseck)

Twitter: @broomestripes

from around the web