Nine DODEA-Europe programs are represented between the 15 players named to the 2016 All-Europe boys soccer first team, announced this week by DODEA-Europe athletic director Karen Seadore. While all three DODEA-Europe divisions placed players on the first team, the top Division I finishers gathered most of the recognition. Champion International School of Brussels saw three of its players honored in sophomore forward Ryota Nakamura and junior midfielders Matthieu L’Hostis – the 2016 Stars and Stripes boys soccer Athlete of the Year – and Pepijn Kruidenier. Runner-up Lakenheath matched that total as sophomore Ethan Fitzgerald, junior Tristin Reyes and senior Jacob Croft made the first-team cut. Kaiserslautern’s Alexander Dexter and Shelton Carter, Stuttgart’s Tyler Kearny and Naples’ Matteo Pugliese rounded out the 10-man Division I contingent. Division II champion Marymount accounted for two first-team slots in seniors Lotanna Mba and Michele Musilli, while senior midfielder Val Evans represents Division III champion Alconbury. Black Forest Academy’s Jin-Hwan Kim and Brussels’ Tim Wilkinson complete the first-team roster. The diverse list of All-Europe selections continued on a second team drawing 15 players from 12 different programs. That included two duos from large-school contenders shut out from the first team in Ramstein’s Keal Collins and Antonio Oduber and Wiesbaden’s Eric Arnold and Asante Lattimore. Naples notched two more selections as second-teamers Davide Di Costanzo and Marcello Esposti join first-teamer Pugliese. Marymount’s Francesco Izzo made the second team to pad the Royals’ total. In total, ISB, Lakenheath, Kaiserslautern, Naples and Marymount each contributed three players to the combined 30-player list to tie for top honors.First team MF Matthieu L’Hostis, International School of Brussels (Jr.) MF Pepijn Kruidenier, ISB (Jr.) F Ryota Nakamura, ISB (Soph.) F Alexander Dexter, Kaiserslautern (Jr.) MF Shelton Carter, Kaiserslautern (Sr.) MF Jacob Croft, Lakenheath (Sr.) MF Tristin Reyes, Lakenheath (Jr.) F Ethan Fitzgerald, Lakenheath (Soph.) MF Tyler Kearny, Stuttgart (Sr.) DEF Matteo Pugliese, Naples (Jr.) MF Jin-Hwan Kim, Black Forest (Sr.) MF Lotanna Mba, Marymount (Sr.) MF Michele Musilli, Marymount (Sr.) MF Val Evans, Alconbury (Sr.) MF Tim Wilkinson, Brussels (Jr.)Second team MF Jonah Walzer, Alconbury (Sr.) GK Winston Sappenfield, Sigonella (Soph.) MF Kiernan Blouin, Hohenfels (Sr.) MF Francesco Izzo, Marymount (Sr.) DEF Jeremie Kautzmann, Black Forest (Sr.) F Lorenzo King, Aviano (Sr.) MF Keal Collins, Ramstein (Jr.) DEF Antonio Oduber, Ramstein (Sr.) MF Eric Arnold, Wiesbaden (Sr.) F Asante Lattimore, Wiesbaden (Sr.) F Davide Di Costanzo, Naples (Sr.) MF Marcello Esposti, Naples (Sr.) MF Dan Bacskai, Stuttgart (Jr.) MF Ryan Rimmler, Kaiserslautern (Sr.) MF Logan Harless, AFNORTH (Sr.)Selection committee: Karen Seadore, DODEA-Europe; Greg Mako, Lakenheath; Eugene Macadagum, Stuttgart; Dirk Lambertson, Naples; Katie Morgart, Alconbury; James Martin, Sigonella.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now