All-Europe boys soccer

Ramstein, Kaiserslautern place three each on All-Europe boys soccer first team

Ramstein's Cameron Hansen celebrates a goal to put his team up 3-1 with teammate Lee DeBose. Hansen scored two goals in the Royals' 4-3 win over Kaiserslautern in the Division I final at the DODDS-Europe soccer championships in Kaiserslautern, Germany, Thursday, May 22, 2014. Hansen was later named the tourney MVP.


By STARS AND STRIPES Published: June 13, 2014

Division I finalists Ramstein and Kaiserslautern placed three players apiece on the 2014 All-Europe boys soccer first team, released this week by DODDS-Europe athletic director Karen Seadore.

Seniors Cameron Hansen, Brienno Illari and Devin McGeehan made the squad for the champion Royals, while seniors Steven Mamer and Anthony Walker and junior Sean Dunbar represented the runner-up Raiders.

Division II Naples also enjoyed multiple selections to the 15-player first team in forwards Ryan Knapp and Davide DiCostanzo. That’s twice as many selections as either of the participants in the Division II European championship game – sophomore Lotanna Mba made the cut for champion Marymount, while runner-up AFNORTH placed Claudius Karich on the squad.

Division I schools accounted for eight of the first-team spots as Wiesbaden’s John Arnold and Patch’s Christian Rauschenplat joined the Ramstein and Kaiserslautern contingents. Division III placed three on the roster, led by four-time selection Alessandro Thomas of champion Sigonella.

Though only Rauschenplat made the first team for the Panthers, Patch placed three players on the 15-man second team, enough to tie Kaiserslautern as DODDS-Europe best-represented school on the All-Europe teams. Freshman phenom Alexander Dexter cracked the second team for the Raiders.


First team

MF John Arnold, Wiesbaden (Sr.)

MF Cameron Hansen, Ramstein (Sr.)

MF Brienno Illari, Ramstein (Sr.)

LB Devin McGeehan, Ramstein (Sr.)

MF Christian Rauschenplat, Patch (Sr.)

MF Steven Mamer, Kaiserslautern (Sr.)

GK Anthony Walker, Kaiserslautern (Sr.)

FWD Sean Dunbar, Kaiserslautern (Jr.)

FWD Ryan Knapp, Naples (Sr.)

FWD Davide DiCostanzo, Naples (Soph.)

FWD Lotanna Mba, Marymount (Soph.)

MF Claudius Karich, AFNORTH (Jr.)

MF Val Evans, Menwith Hill (Soph.)

MF Alessandro Thomas, Sigonella (Sr.)

MF Merab Chitanava, Brussels (Sr.)


Second team

MF Pierre Elysee, Vilseck (Jr.)

MF Christian Harvey, Patch (Sr.)

DEF Brian Wright, Patch (Sr.)

GK Brandon Danielson, Patch (Sr.)

DEF Sam Lancaster, Lakenheath (Sr.)

MF Alexander Dexter, Kaiserslautern (Fr.)

MF Rizwaan Dharsey, Bahrain (Jr.)

FWD Miguel De Frutos, Naples (Fr.)

FWD Jay Winkler, Bitburg (Soph.)

MF Logan Wells, Rota (Sr.)

DEF Jordan Stemple, Black Forest Academy (Sr.)

MF Adrian Domijan, SHAPE (Jr.)

FWD Nathan Sevigny, Aviano (Sr.)

FWD Shaun Brooks, Menwith Hill (Soph.)

GK Thomas Wray, Sigonella (Jr.)


comments Join the conversation and share your voice!  

from around the web