Three Fort Bragg officers among 34 nominated for promotion to brigadier general

By HENRY CUNINGHAM | The Fayetteville Observer, N.C. | Published: December 14, 2012

Three Fort Bragg officers are on the list of 34 Army colonels nominated by President Obama to become brigadier generals.

Defense Secretary Leon Panetta announced the nominations Thursday.

The Fort Bragg nominees have special operations backgrounds.

The president's nominations are subject to Senate approval.

The Fort Bragg officers are:

James E. Kraft Jr., deputy commander of Joint Task Force-Sword of U.S. Special Operations Command. The task force will take charge of special operations in Afghanistan in 2013.

Kraft was the commander of 7th Special Forces Group during its move to Eglin Air Force Base in Florida in 2011.

Michael E. Kurilla, assistant commander for support of JSOC.

Kurilla is former commander of the 75th Ranger Regiment at Fort Benning, Ga. The Rangers are part of U.S. Army Special Operations Command, which has headquarters at Fort Bragg.

Randy S. Taylor, special assistant to the deputycommanding general of Forces Command.

Taylor will become deputy chief of staff for communications and information techonology at Forces Command headquarters.

He commanded the 112th Signal Battalion (Special Operations) at Fort Bragg and in Afghanistan and Iraq and has been operations officer for the 35th Signal Brigade at Fort Bragg and in Afghanistan.

Also on the list is Donald C. Bolduc, deputy commander of the Special Operations Joint Task-Afghanistan. He is former commander of the 1st Battalion of the 3rd Special Forces Group at Fort Bragg and Combined Joint Special Operations Task Force in Afghanistan.

The complete list of those nominated:

Col. Christopher S. Ballard
Col. David G. Bassett
Col. Donald C. Bolduc
Col. Edward M. Daly
Col. Malcolm B. Frost
Col. Donald G. Fryc
Col. Anthony C. Funkhouser
Col. Peter A. Gallagher
Col. William K. Gayler
Col. Mark W. Gillette
Col. David B. Haight
Col. Joseph P. Harrington
Col. Michael L. Howard
Col. John P. Johnson
Col. James E. Kraft, Jr.
Col. Michael E. Kurilla
Col. Paul J. Laughlin II
Col. Joseph M. Martin
Col. Terrence J. McKenrick
Col. Christopher P. McPadden
Col. John E. O'Neil
Col. Mark J. O'Neil
Col. Erik C. Peterson
Col. Andrew P. Poppas
Col. James E. Rainey
Col. Kent D. Savre
Col. Wilson A. Shoffner, Jr.
Col. Mark S. Spindler
Col. Sean P. Swindell
Col. Randy S. Taylor
Col. John C. Thomson III
Col. Leon N. Thurgood
Col. Flem B. Walker, Jr.
Col. Robert P. Walters, Jr.


comments Join the conversation and share your voice!  

from around the web