Subscribe

ARLINGTON, Va. — The Marine Corps has established a toll-free number for family members in the United States to call wounded Marines recovering in Germany, according to the Corps.

Established Oct. 4, the number is 1-866-645-8762. It allows family members to reach the Landstuhl Regional Medical Center Liaison Office, a recent Marine Corps administrative message reads.

The toll-free number’s hours of operation are 6:30 a.m. to 9 p.m. German time on weekdays, and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. German time for weekends and holidays, according to the message.

For callers inside the United States, that means the toll-free number’s operational hours are the following:

Eastern time: 12:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. weekdays; 3 a.m. to 11 a.m. weekends/holidays.Central time: 11:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. weekdays; 2 a.m. to 10 a.m. weekends/holidays.Mountain time: 10:30 p.m. to 1 p.m. weekdays; 1 a.m. to 9 a.m. weekends/holidays.Pacific time: 9:30 p.m. to noon weekdays; midnight to 8 a.m. weekends/holidays.Alaska time: 8:30 p.m. to 11 a.m. weekdays; 11 p.m. to 7 a.m. weekends/holidays.Hawaii time: 6:30 p.m. to 9 a.m. weekdays; 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. weekends/holidays.During operating hours, calls will be forwarded to the ward to the Marine being treated or the hospital liaison team if the Marine is unable to talk, the message read. The team can answer any questions family members have within the bounds of privacy laws.

Calls received after hours will be forwarded to the hospital’s 24-hour information desk, according to the the message.

For more information, visit the Wounded Warrior Web site at: www.manpower.usmc.mil.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign-up to receive a daily email of today’s top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign up