Support our mission

Fourteen Department of Defense Dependents Schools-Europe students have been named candidates for the Presidential Scholars program.

The program, started in 1964 under President Johnson, recognizes distinguished seniors and has honored more than 5,000 students since its inception.

The program honors up to 141 students a year, including one male and one female student from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and among Americans living abroad; 15 at-large students; and up to 20 students in the arts.

The selections are based on outstanding scholarship, service, leadership and creativity through a rigorous selection and review process administered by the U.S. Department of Education, according to the program’s Web site,

This year’s DODDS-Europe candidates are:

Sarah E. Beesel, Lakenheath High School, England.Gregory Billington, Lakenheath High School.Joshua S. Brinsfield, Patch American High School, Germany.Danielle R. Cook, Ansbach American High School, Germany.Robert M. Edwards, H.H. Arnold High School, Germany.Leah K. Flake, London Central High School, England.John N. Guenther, Ramstein American High School, Germany.Natalie J. Harrington, H. H. Arnold High School.Elizabeth C. Jeppesen, Bitburg American High School, Germany.Rachel A. Lietzau, Patch American High School.Kyle M. McCloskey, Lakenheath High School.Caitlin S. Newcomb, Ramstein American High School.Alison R. Selking, Heidelberg American High School, Germany.Micah T. Turney, Ramstein American High School.Semifinalists will be announced in early April, with the winners announced in May. Presidential Scholars will travel to Washington, D.C., on June 24 for a three-day visit.


Stripes in 7

around the web

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign-up to receive a daily email of today’s top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign up