YOKOSUKA NAVAL BASE, Japan — Yokosuka’s Fleet Reserve Association hosted a luncheon and awards ceremony Wednesday to honor Japan-based sailors of the year for 2008.

USS Kitty Hawk Petty Officer 1st Class Issac Medina, the leading petty officer for the ship’s indoctrination center, said it was an honor to be among the 25 sailors invited.

“Everything I did to get here I did because the command needed someone to step up and do it,” Medina said. “It was never about me, it was always about my shipmates and the command.”

The guest speaker at the fourth annual event was Commander, Naval Forces Japan Rear Adm. James Kelly.

Each sailor was presented with a letter of appreciation from the Fleet Reserve Association, a one-year FRA membership and a $50 gift card to the Navy Exchange.

“Honoring sailors of the year Navywide is part of the FRA’s national charter,” said Frank Misiura, the local chapter’s secretary.

Sailors of the Year:Petty Officer 1st Class William Palmer, Commander, Naval Forces JapanPetty Officer 1st Class Celena Curry, Naval Information Operations CommandPetty Officer 1st Class Equilla Sims, Carrier Task Force 70Petty Officer 1st Class Charles Marchant, Naval Hospital YokosukaPetty Officer 1st Class Damian Williams, Afloat Training Group, Western PacificPetty Officer 1st Class Amy E. Woolston, USS Kitty HawkPetty Officer 1st Class Robert L. Hernandez, Naval Meteorology and Oceanography CommandPetty Officer 2nd Class Martin Figueroa, Naval Meteorology and Oceanography CommandPetty Officer 1st Class Fahressa Veasy, Naval Communications StationPetty Officer 1st Class Roderick L. Hollie, USS Blue RidgePetty Officer 1st Class Joseph Maki, Commander Destroyer Squadron 15Petty Officer 1st Class Cynthia E. Cattage, USS MustinPetty Officer 1st Class Paul A. McCarthy, Region Legal Service OfficePetty Officer 1st Class Vernice Lacheal Williams, Region Legal Service OfficePetty Officer 1st Class Clifford McDaniels, Commander Carrier Strike Group SevenPetty Officer 1st Class Manuel Tamayo, Ship Repair FacilityPetty Officer 1st Class Issac Medina, USS Kitty HawkPetty Officer 1st Class Jason Gromacki, Commander, U.S. 7th Fleet Navy BandPetty Officer 1st Class Brett M. Bittner, USS John S. McCainPetty Officer 1st Class Darnell Harris, Commander, U.S. 7th FleetPetty Officer 1st Class Gary Lynn Lattimore, USS McCampbellPetty Officer 1st Class Demetrius Taylor, Navy Center for Technical Assistance Detachment FivePetty Officer 1st Class Wayne Busby, USS StethemPetty Officer 1st Class Robert Black, USS Curtis WilburPetty Officer 1st Class Melissa Dooley-Anderson, Commander, Fleet Activities, YokosukaPetty Officer 1st Class Louis Honor, Center for Naval LeadershipSource: Fleet Reserve Association

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now