Event — 34th Far East High School Wrestling Tournament.Proponent — Department of Defense Dependents Schools Pacific.Dates — Feb. 14-17, 2011.Host school — Osan American High School, Osan Air Base, South Korea.Site — Community & Fitness Center “Super Gym,” Camp Humphreys, South Korea.Participating teams — Class AA, Seoul American Falcons (three total Far East team championships); Kadena Panthers (reigning Far East dual-meet team champion, six total Far East team championships); Kubasaki Dragons (Pacific-record 21 total Far East team championships); Guam High Panthers (reigning Independent Interscholastic Athletic Association of Guam champion); Nile C. Kinnick Red Devils (reigning Far East individual freestyle team champion, seven total Far East team championships); Yokota Panthers (reigning Kanto Plain Association of Secondary Schools tournament champion, tied with Zama American and St. Mary’s International for Kanto regular-season dual-meet title, two total Far East team championships); St. Mary’s International Titans (Kanto regular-season co-champion, six total Far East tournament team titles); American School In Japan Mustangs (four total Far East tournament team titles); Christian Academy Japan Knights; Father Duenas Memorial Friars.Class A, Osan American Cougars (one team championship); Daegu American Warriors; Robert D. Edgren Eagles (reigning Far East individual freestyle and dual-meet tournament champion); E.J. King Cobras Zama American Trojans (two total Far East team championships).Returning Far East individual champions — Marcus Boehler, Nile C. Kinnick, 122 pounds (two-time champion); Devin Day, Yokota, 135 pounds (2009 129-pound champion); Michael Spencer, Zama American, 168 pounds (two-time champion).Format — Individual round-robin for seeding purposes on first day. Single-elimination with consolation individual freestyle tournament on second and third days. Dual-meet tournament on fourth day.Schedule of events — Opening ceremony at 9 a.m. Wednesday at “Super Gym.” Wrestling begins at 10:30 a.m. all four days. Approximate time of individual freestyle finals, 5 p.m. Friday. Approximate time of dual-meet final, 6 p.m. Saturday.Awards — Team awards to top three finishers in individual freestyle and dual-meet tournaments. Individual awards to top six finishers, medals to top three finishers in each of 13 weight classes. Team scoring is on a 12-8-5-3-2-1 point system. Outstanding Wrestler award as voted on by coaches.

Team championship leadersCombined, Class AAKubasaki Dragons, Okinawa, 21Nile C. Kinnick Red Devils, Japan, 7St. Mary’s International Titans, Japan, 6Kadena Panthers, Okinawa, 6American School In Japan Mustangs, 4Seoul American Falcons, South Korea, 3Zama American Trojans, Japan, 2Yokota Panthers, Japan, 2Class ARobert D. Edgren Eagles, Japan, 2Osan American Cougars, South Korea, 1

Team Champions, coaches1977, Kubasaki Dragons, Okinawa, Japan, Ed Davies1978, Yokota Panthers, Japan, Charles Capps1979, Zama American Trojans, Japan, Bruce Derr1980, Nile C. Kinnick Red Devils, Japan, James Feller1981, No tournament1982, Zama American and St. Mary’s International Titans, Tokyo, Bruce Derr and Ed Paradis1983, Kubasaki, James Feller1984, Kubasaki and St. Mary’s International, James Feller and Ed Paradis1985, Kubasaki, James Feller1986, Kubasaki, Jerry Weekes1987, St. Mary’s International, John Hohenthaner1988, Kubasaki, Jeff Pellaton1989, American School In Japan Mustangs, Tokyo, John Hohenthaner1990, American School In Japan, John Hohenthaner1991, Kubasaki, Jeff Pellaton1992, Kubasaki, Jeff Pellaton1993, American School In Japan, John Hohenthaner1994, Kubasaki, Jeff Pellaton1995, American School In Japan (dual-meet), John Hohenthaner; Kubasaki (individual freestyle), Jeff Pellaton1996, Nile C. Kinnick (dual-meet and individual freestyle), John Leinard1997, St. Mary’s International (dual-meet), Jon Rhodes; Kubasaki (individual freestyle), Jeff Pellaton1998, Kubasaki (dual-meet and individual freestyle), Jeff Pellaton1999, Kubasaki (dual-meet and individual freestyle), Jeff Pellaton2000, Kubasaki (dual-meet and individual freestyle), Jeff Pellaton2001, Nile C. Kinnick (dual-meet and individual freestyle), Scott Smith2002, Kubasaki (dual meet), Jeff Pellaton; Nile C. Kinnick (individual freestyle), Scott Smith2003, Yokota (individual freestyle), Mark Hanssen; St. Mary’s International (dual meet), Jon Rhodes2004, St. Mary’s International (individual freestyle), Jon Rhodes; Seoul American (dual meet), Julian Harden2005, Kubasaki (dual-meet and individual freestyle), Terry Chumley2006, Kadena Panthers, Okinawa (dual-meet and individual freestyle), Steve Schrock2007, Seoul American (dual-meet and individual freestyle), Julian Harden2008, Kadena (dual-meet and individual freestyle), Steve SchrockClass AA2009, Kubasaki (individual freestyle), Terry Chumley; Kadena (dual-meet), Steve Schrock2010, Nile C. Kinnick (individual freestyle), Gary Wilson; Kadena (dual-meet), Steve SchrockClass A2009, Osan American, South Korea (individual freestyle), David Hemmer2010, Robert D. Edgren, Japan (individual freestyle, dual-meet), Justin Edmonds

Outstanding Wrestler Award Winners1977, Mike Lewis, Nile C. Kinnick.1978, Masaru Yamada, Kubasaki.1979, Dennis Higdon, Seoul American.1980, Clint Yamaoka, Yokota.1981, no tournament.1982, Brian Webb, Seoul American.1983, Ariel Morano, Kubasaki.1984, Robert Westberg, Kubasaki.1985, John Higa, Kubasaki.1986, Antonio Pacheco, Kubasaki.1987, Brian Hughes, Kubasaki.1988, David Fish, American School In Japan.1989, Elbert Bailey, Kubasaki.1990, Mike Greeson, Zama American.1991, Jens Larsson, St. Mary’s International.1992, Chris Gunderson, Nile C. Kinnick.1993, Tom Chavez, Kubasaki.1994, Evan Moore, Christian Academy Japan.1995, Sam Colby, Seoul American.1996, Kento Omori, St. Mary’s International.1997, Eduardo Ayala, St. Mary’s International.1998, Casey Vulcan, Seoul American.1999, Ken Nagao, St. Mary’s International.2000, Randall Hull, Seoul American.2001, Ray Lamb, Seoul American.2002, Mundre Fleming, Kadena; and Bernam Tapang, Kubasaki.2003, Zolboo Enkhbayar, Brent International.2004, Zolboo Enkhbayar, Brent International.2005, David Burnett, Zama American.2006, Steve Courtney, Kubasaki.2007, Carlos Albaladejo, Osan American.2008, Cameron Butts, Nile C. Kinnick.2009, Scott Wood, Kubasaki.2010, Harry Bloom, Kadena.

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign up to receive a daily email of today's top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign Up Now