Support our mission

Winners of the annual Army journalism competition have been announced by Installation Management Agency, Europe Region.

Europe-level judging for Keith L. Ware Journalism Awards was completed Jan. 27-29 in Heidelberg, Germany. Four judges selected the winners from 75 entries. First-place winners advance to the Department of the Army competition.

Winners and categories are:

Tabloid-Format Newspaper • Herald Union, 104th Area Support Group, Hanau, Germany.

News Articles • Alexandra Williams, 284th Base Support Battalion, Giessen, Germany.

Feature Articles • Anemone Rueger, 104th ASG, Hanau.

Commentary • Elaine Nicholas, 98th ASG, Würzburg, Germany.

Sports Articles • Hugh McBride, 6th ASG, Stuttgart, Germany.

Story Series • No first place winner.• Runner up: Karl Weisel, 104th ASG, Hanau.

Single/Stand-Alone Photograph • Julie Speegle, 26th ASG, Heidelberg, Germany.

Photojournalism • Ignacio Rubalcava, 222nd BSB, Baumholder, Germany.

Contribution by Contractor/Stringer (Writer) • Liz Maddy, 22nd ASG, Vicenza, Italy.

Contribution by Contractor/Stringer (Photographer) • Honorable Mention: Pfc. Susan Newsome, 221st BSB, Wiesbaden, Germany.

Web-based Publications • 104th ASG, Herald Union, Hanau.

Moss-Holland Civilian Journalist of the Year • Hugh McBride, 6th ASG, Stuttgart.

Special Achievement in Print Media • The Citizen — “Force Protection,” 6th ASG, Stuttgart.


Stripes in 7

around the web

Sign Up for Daily Headlines

Sign-up to receive a daily email of today’s top military news stories from Stars and Stripes and top news outlets from around the world.

Sign up